Water Towers and Standpipes of the United States of America. Sponsored by "Understanding Your Home" by building inspector Mark Visser

Tower Information
Tower signage:
Missing tower data: Please contact us if you have more information.

Please take some pictures of "your" local tower and send them to us, uncropped and in .jpg format.
Click here to send us an image

Montgomery County - Ohio
© Mark Visser

Area Information
Montgomery County is located in the western part of the Ohio.
The county seat is Dayton.
Residents named the county in honor of Richard Montgomery, a general of the American Revolution, who was killed in 1775 while attempting to capture Quebec City, Canada.

On March 24, 1803, the Ohio legislature authorized the creation of Montgomery County. Previously, the county had been parts of Ross and Hamilton Counties. Wilbur and Orville Wright owned a bicycle shop in Dayton, the county seat, during the late nineteenth and early twentieth century. It was here that the Wrights developed the first powered aircraft to fly successfully.
Montgomery County is located in western Ohio.
Montgomery County flourished during the nineteenth century. With the completion of the Miami and Erie Canal in 1829, Dayton was connected to Cincinnati.
Besides the Wright brothers, Montgomery County also was home to Ohio Governors James Cox and Charles Anderson. Paul Laurence Dunbar, a noted African American author and poet lived in Dayton as well.
Resources: Ohio History Central

Other sites you may be interested in:
Thumbnail Collection of USA Water Towers
Canadian Water Towers and Standpipes
Magnetic Hills in the United States of America
The History of the Christian Fish Symbol


Home   Back to Ohio Index